The Sonnet Lover

by Carol Goodman | Literature & Fiction | This book has not been rated.
ISBN: 9780749938314 Global Overview for this book
Registered by taniazed on 11/8/2007
Buy from one of these Booksellers:
Amazon.com | Amazon UK | Amazon CA | Amazon DE | Amazon FR | Amazon IT | Bol.com
1 journaler for this copy...
Journal Entry 1 by taniazed on Thursday, November 8, 2007
Dr Rose Asher is a lecturer in Renaissance poetry at the prestigious Hudson College. As an undergraduate she spent a year in Tuscany at the villa la Civetta and it was there, that Rose began and ill-fated affair with her married tutor.

But when Rose's most gifted student, Robin Weiss, dies in mysterious circumstances - and amid accusations of plagiarism - Rose fins herself reluctantly agreeing to return to La Civetta dn face her former lover and the ghosts of her past.

La Civetta was once the home of sixteenth century poet Ginevra de Laura and local legend insists that she is the 'dark lady' of Shakespeare's sonnets. Rob's screenplay goes further in suggesting that this love affair was conducted on Italian soil, It is a script which has garnered Hollywood interest and much professional rivalry among Rose's academic colleagues. But does what Rose has taken to be a Hollywood fantasy have a grounding in reality? And if Robin had discovered proof of Shakespeare's connections to La Civetta, was it a literary coup worth killing for?

Skilfully imagined, intricately detailed, eerily poignant, these are the hallmarks of Carol Goodman's writing and THE SONNET LOVER is a tense and seductive literary thriller which will appeal to fans of Donna Tartt and Kate Mosse.

Are you sure you want to delete this item? It cannot be undone.